Visas vary depending upon the reason for your visit to Ireland, whether you wish to work or not and the duration of your visit.

EU citizens, EEA and Swiss nationals do not require visas. With a few exceptions, visas are required for the nationals of most other countries.

It is important to have the correct type of visa if you require one as, failure to do so may result in arrest, detention, removal from Ireland and/or prohibition or restriction on future entry.

Visas may have various conditions attached to them depending on the type of visa issued and circumstances of the individual to whom it is issued.

Types of Visas:

  1. Tourist: for visits to Ireland for 90 days or less, including attendance at conferences.
  2. Long stay: for visits exceeding 90 days.
  3. Spouse/civil partner: for those wishing to have their spouse/civil partner join them.
  4. Children: for those wishing to have their dependent children join them.
  5. Other family members: extended family members may on some circumstances be granted a visa to join you.
  6. Student: for those wishing to study in Ireland in a full time basis.
  7. Researcher: for those undertaking research with a recognised institution.
  8. Volunteer: for those undertaking voluntary work with recognised organisations.
  9. Van der Elst: for those transferring to the Irish office of a company from the office of that company in the Member State where It is established.
  10. Business: for those needing to enter Ireland for business purposes to carry out work for a maximum of 14 days.
  11. Marriage: for those wishing to go through a ceremony of marriage in Ireland.
  12. De facto: for those in a long term relationship wishing their partner to join them.